you tell me love is

July 19, 2013 § Leave a comment

you tell me love is this:
a swift entangling
a web of you encasing my life
strands of your awareness catching with sharp fishing-hooks
into every hour of my waking day
into every corner of my world –

because you don’t want to miss anything
because you want to be part of my life
and don’t I want to be just as much a part of yours?

you tell me love is this:
two lives woven into one
and you pay lip service to independence, autonomy
while crowding out mine, snarling at any distance
anything that is mine alone
anything unshared with you –

until there is nothing left of me
that is unmarked by your fingerprints
that is unclaimed by your insistence.

you tell me love is this:
an all-consuming passion
an obsession that never ends
and oh, how I tried to believe you
but my stamina is not so great as yours
gasping for breath as I tire
gasping for air as I drown –

this love of yours is a fairy tale tower
this love of yours is a jeweled prison
and I’m my own knight.

here’s me,
saving myself,
getting out.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading you tell me love is at Of Horn and Ivory.

meta

